Esoteric Online

The 4 Cardinal Virtues are; Prudence, Temperance,Justice, and Fortitude.

Philosophers recognize the interrelatedness of the virtues such that courage without prudence risks becoming mere foolhardiness. Aquinas found an interconnection of practical wisdom (prudentia) and moral virtue. This is frequently termed "the Unity of the Virtues."[7] Aquinas also argued that it not only matters what a person does but how the person does it. The person must aim at a good end and also make a right choice about the means to that end. The moral virtues direct the person to aim at a good end, but to ensure that the person make the right choices about the means to a good end, one needs practical wisdom.[Aquinas. Commentary on the Nicomachean Ethics, Book VI, Lecture XI, ##1279–1280]

  • Currently 0/5 stars.

Views: 0


You need to be a Seeker of Esoteric Online to add comments!

Join Esoteric Online

Comment by P. Sidney Parker on December 14, 2020 at 11:17pm
I have a tip for those watching this video, who are not Freemasons. The concept and philosophy of the Four (4) Virtues were adopted by Freemasonry, because of the perceived value of that system Virtues. The Virtues were not an invention or a design of Freemasonry. They are a very ancient system of virtues appreciated and accepted by the Freemasons. While viewing this video substitute references to Freemasons with words such as; person, people, mankind, etc.

© 2021   Created by The Community.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service